The Catcher in the Rye: The Good and The Bad

The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger, is quite the read. I’m only 12 chapters in, and I can’t even put the book down. There are so many things I like about this book. I really like how the way this book is narrated. Holden Caulfield is a 16 year old boy, which is around my age, and it makes it a lot easier to relate to him and the way he thinks. The first person point of view from the teenage perspective makes this book very interesting and entertaining because I can relate to Holden. Throughout the book, Holden always complains about people being “phonies.” From what I’ve read so far, I think that Holden classifies one as a phony is that person follows social norms and will do anything to be part of a group; basically a phony is someone that isn’t true to themselves and their own wants. When he talks about phonies, I can relate to Holden because I sometimes think about why people always have to fit this societal mold, and why can’t everyone just be themselves. Another thing I like about this book is how Holden drifts off into a random thought when telling the reader a story. For example, Holden was telling a story and then completely shifted his focus to wondering where the ducks go when the lakes freeze in the winter. I feel that these random thoughts make the book more pure and real. I feel that it makes the book more human, because humans make mistakes and run off and think of random things and not every single thing they say is perfect and concise. Another thing I like about the book is that Holden doesn’t hold back. He says whatever is on his mind when he wants to, and I think that juvenile characteristic of him makes the book entertaining. Overall, I really like the way this book is narrated and the main character because it makes it really easy to connect to and feel apart of his story.

While there are so many things to like about this book so far, it does have it’s flaws. For example, I really want Holden to explain more of his stories. Holden’s brother Allie, who died of cancer at a young age, was only talked about for one page and it didn’t even have that much about him. AlIie was seemingly a huge part of Holden’s life, yet Salinger left out so much on their relationship and the mourning of Holden after Allie passed. Another thing I don’t like about the book is that Holden’s random thoughts have no meaning at the moment. Salinger doesn’t explain the meaning or even hint at an underlying theme when Holden goes on a tangent, like when he talked about the ducks in the pond. Maybe I need to rad more of the book to figure out Holden’s random references and background, but as of now, it really confuses me. I really wish Salinger shared more about Holden’s life and his background for the reader to get a better understanding of why he is the why he is: life why he doesn’t apply himself in school or why he has this view on the world. I think if I knew more about his family and school life, I would be able to have a better understanding of the main character. I believe that Salinger either did this on purpose or I haven’t read enough of the book yet to find out his story. I think Salinger wants to keep Holden’s like a mystery in order for the reader to make their own assumptions as they read this captivating novel.

catcher-in-the-rye-cover

 

2 comments

  1. yashc22 · January 21, 2019 at 6:04 pm ·

    Greetings Sydney Kruto, thank you so much for sharing your response! I remember I also read The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger last year and I have quite the same thoughts on the book as you do. I absolutely adore how the book is written in the first person point of view because as you mentioned, it gives the audience a little more insight on Holden’s thoughts and his way of life. This is especially important to high school students like us because Holden is 16 years old which makes it almost effortless to relate to some of the ideas that he portrays. For example, the phonies, I’m sure that an abundant amount of high school students can relate to this idea because we find out that a lot of the people that we think are admirable turn out to be vicious due to societal norms and the need to fit in with other individuals. Going off your thought about the random stories that Holden tells, I may have to dissent. I greatly cherish the mysteriousness that Salinger depicts because it aids in the characterization of Holden’s mysterious personality. The famous question of where the ducks go when the ponds freeze over stuck with me throughout the book and hindered in the back of my mind, pushing for me to sort through my tangled thoughts for an answer which is something I enjoyed. I understand why you may disapprove of Salinger’s choice to do this because it could get a bit bothersome not knowing the author’s intended purpose! Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I hope you do too! Happy reading!

  2. boseph2019 · January 22, 2019 at 1:10 am ·

    I greatly enjoyed how you drew connections from the book to your own life and showed how it related to you, especially when it came to societal norms. I agree with you that it seemed as if J.D. Salinger did not elaborate much on Holden’s brother Allie, and that he should have so that we could relate better with Holden and understand more about him. However, we both have not finished reading the book yet and hopefully there will be more elaboration on that part of the story at a later point.